Recycle with Sparkle

FullSizeRender (5)FullSizeRenderFullSizeRender (3)photo_2016-02-18_21-34-30FullSizeRender (2)

Thursday = break day; meaning time to explore. For a tiny town, Aarhus has a plethora of events ongoing. Such a happening city, I love it. Okay back to the topic, so one of the events I attended was a Re-design workshop by REUSE. REUSE is basically this warehouse sorta place where people can drop off things they no longer need and can also take something they need. It’s a beautiful concept, after all ‘one man’s trash is another man’s treasure’.

So they had several colourful caravans (pictured above) and each caravan was filled with items of a particular category. For example, the ‘kitchen’ had all sorts of tableware. The ‘children’ caravan was the cutest (with a bed full of stuffed toys!) And of course, you are more than welcome to take whatever you need (or want) for free. After we picked our prized possessions, we moved on to the fun part – the re-design section. They had all sorts of craft items that you could use to give the ‘waste’ a makeover. Tubs of acrylic paint, bottles of glitter, packets of felt paper, boxes of chalk and even containers of feathers and buttons. You could glitter the shit out of a wine glass if you wanted to (admit it, you secretly would love to drink wine from a sparkly cup). For anyone obsessed with craft (me!), the place was like Disneyland and I was like a kid in a candy store.

You know when you were a kid and played with those miniature animal toys? Well they had a whole bucket of those, and one coat of bronze spray paint gave them this really nice antique ornament look (pictured above). I may or may not have painted an entire herd of animals which I proudly call my ‘Avimal Farm’ (please reserve all your judgment).

Okay and now I come to the BEST part (yeah, how can it get better right?) S’mores and hot chocolate!! ‘Nuff said.

Okay no let me elaborate: basically they had several campfires set-up and we could toast our own marshmallows. Biting into that gooey slightly charred mallow is a dream come true. On top of one of the campfires dangled a huge pot of hot chocolate that was scooped hot into cups and topped with whipped cream (delish!).

Overall it was really good day and I am glad I went despite the gloomy weather. One thing that struck me while I was at the workshop: people in Europe (or Denmark at least) are genuinely nice and giving in nature. I don’t mean this only because of the freebies, but they really care about helping those around them. Such kindness is rare (especially for someone from Singapore) and maybe that’s why Denmark is the happiest country in the world. Planning to come back to REUSE before I leave Aarhus and donate some of my stuff, hoping it becomes someone’s treasure or at least brings a smile to their face (maybe after 2 rounds of spray paint and truck loads of glitter).

P.S. Reuse. Reduce. Recycle? Nah I like Recycle with Sparkle better.

P.P.S. Just in case you’re wondering, my ‘Avimal Farm’ has 2 cows, 2 horses, 2 giraffes, a goat, a camel and a dinosaur.

Leave a Reply

